Anglo-belgian Society

Who we are

We are at the heart of the Anglo-Belgian community in Great Britain and maintain close relationships with both the Belgian Embassy and the Belgian-Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce (BLCC).

We date back to the early 20th Century and throughout our history, have enjoyed the support of the Royal Families of both the United Kingdom and Belgium.

Our main objective is "to help maintain and develop on a personal level the friendship which has always existed between the British and Belgian peoples, to promote cultural and social relations between the two peoples and to commemorate the brotherhood in arms which arose in two World Wars".

We organise and promote a variety of social, cultural and sporting events at different venues for the benefit of our members and, on certain occasions, their guests. Have a look in our events section!

We are a non-political, non-profit organisation, with a national remit, based in London, and run by voluntary effort. The Society's events are conducted in English.
Find out more about becoming a member

What we do

  • Keynote events include the biennial Anglo-Belgian Ball in the Spring, a Summer Reception and a day at Royal Ascot in June, a celebration of the Belgian National Day in July, an Annual Dinner to celebrate King's Day in the Autumn.
  • We have organised wine tastings, concerts, conferences; some with the other Anglo-European Societies. We also participate in two important events commemorating our common history: the Belgian Parade at the Cenotaph in July and the Kindling of the Torch at Westminster Abbey, in November.
  • We co-sponsor the "First Tuesday Drinks", an informal drinks gathering in collaboration with the Belgian-Luxemburg Chamber of Commerce (BLCC) at Club Quarters held quarterly on the first Tuesday of the determined month. Details given in the Events section of this website.


The Anglo-Belgian Society
15 Westmoreland Terrace
London SW1V 4AG

Honorary Secretary:
Jean-Christophe Maerten

Society Officers

President: The Rt Hon the Lord Astor of Hever PC DL
Chairman: Mrs Caroline Colvin OBE
Hon. Secretary:
Mr Jean-Christophe Maerten
Hon. Treasurer:
Mr Paul Cameron Taylor